Intern Spotlight: Carlos

Carlos is a young man I’ve seen grow so much in just the past three years. I only recognized him by face when he attended the first college tour I planned back in Summer 2013 but I really got to know his story and life passions when we spent hours after school fine tuning his personal statement for college. He has a quirky sense of humor – and a wry laugh – and just the right words to say to flatter us! Read on for Carlos’ insights on his BridgeYear internship:

Q: What inspired you to be a BridgeYear intern?

A: The possibility to work alongside the woman who helped me get to where I am today. I know she has done wonderful work with EMERGE, but now that she’s venturing off into another program, I knew I could not turn that opportunity down.

Q: Tell us about an “aha” moment – a time when you were most excited about the work you are doing this summer.

A: My “aha” moment came when Chen started to teach us some of the business tactics she learned in business school. At that moment, I realized that I wasn’t going to do any busy intern work this summer. All of us in that room were going to work together to actually accomplish something great.

Q: What has been the most challenging aspect of your work at BridgeYear?

A: The most challenging aspect of my work is to find up-to-date research that is relevant to what we’re all working on. I find some really amazing statistics, some sad facts, and some other things I wish I could fix that are completely unrelated, but for now we’re focused on helping more college students get to and stay in school.

Q: If you had to give your BridgeYear experience a hashtag, what would that be and why?

A: #Doanit, inspired by one of my mentors and supervisor, Victoria Doan and our previous team hashtag, #OwnIt. Doan is in charge of my progress, helps me guide my research and our one-on-one meetings are always learning experiences for me.

Q: Other than BridgeYear, what else have you been up to this summer?

A: This summer I have been working with Project GRAD to help recent graduates matriculate into college through a software program we are testing. I am also a part of a fellowship that is working on increasing political participation among Latinos in the Houston area.
All flattery aside, I love how Carlos’ answers reflect just how ingrained he has become in the education and equity scene in Houston. We have been so fortunate to be able to draw upon his expertise, reflectiveness, and personal experiences to make BridgeYear an even more responsive program for students!
Leave a Reply

